Voyage à Berlin: capitale du cool

BERLIN, novembre 1989. Un jeune homme regarde à travers une fissure dans le mur de Berlin et aperçoit les patrouilleurs de l’Allemagne de l’Est.

Un patrouilleur regarde le jeune homme et à ce moment-là se met à sourire. De plus, un jeune photographe de presse vigilant a saisi le moment symbolisant probablement le plus grand événement de l’histoire du XXe siècle. La patrouille a un sourire réconfortant ce jour-là – quelques heures à peine avant que les manifestants ne se rassemblent pour la démolition du mur de Berlin.

Image result for berlinwall"

Aujourd’hui, 30 ans plus tard, Berlin est le lieu idéal pour des vacances en ville pas comme les autres. C’est une ville qui vous fera réfléchir ou même vous émouvoir aux larmes.

Berlin a des logements vraiment somptueux, des restaurants raffinés, des bistrots impressionnants, une scène dynamique de clubs d’arts et de danse, le Kurfürstendamm qui compte de nombreux magasins haut de gamme et de nombreuses attractions touristiques typiques – même un zoo.

Checkpoint Charlie est une autre attraction touristique. C’est le passage frontalier de la Friedrichstrasse entre l’Est et l’Ouest, divinisé dans un tourbillon de livres de la guerre froide.

Image result for checkpoint charlie"

Le mur et les gardiens ont disparu depuis longtemps. Il y a une salle d’exposition qui nous montre des évadés de l’Est communiste tentant de s’échapper vers l’Ouest.

Les invités regardent avec étonnement les présentoirs. Les individus se cachaient dans un moteur de voiture ou un amplificateur de groupe – n’importe quel petit espace pour se faufiler par-dessus la frontière. Un homme a même voyagé vers l’ouest dans un avion léger artisanal.

Il y a un si grand nombre d’histoires émouvantes.

Accordez-vous une heure pour votre visite.

Vous pouvez également traverser la route et vous promener dans la Niederkirchnerstrasse jusqu’à la Topographie de la Terreur, un immense espace ouvert effrayant où se trouvaient autrefois les QG des SS et de la Gestapo.

Image result for Niederkirchnerstrasse"

De manière effrayante, le long d’une route similaire où se trouvent toujours les établissements de ces structures nazies, s’étend une longue zone sombre du mur de Berlin. Il a été délibérément laissé en place depuis cette nuit charnière du 9 novembre 1989, lorsque la frange a été ouverte et que les Berlinois de l’Est ont euphoriquement saisi leurs indigènes occidentaux. Les images révolutionnaires d’abus sont exposées dans une exposition dans une cave à tempête découverte où des détenus de la Gestapo ont été emmenés pour être torturés.

L’objectif principal à l’intérieur contient une énorme documentation sur le système Hitler.

Ensuite, vous pourrez continuer vers les deux célèbres attractions de Berlin qui célèbrent le changement de la ville au XXe siècle. La porte de Brandebourg du XVIIIe siècle et le Reichstag du XIXe siècle.

Toujours marqué par des impacts de balles en temps de guerre, le parlement allemand rétabli est un incontournable. Une passerelle en spirale sur les côtés vous emmène au sommet et offre une vue à 360 degrés sur la ville. Vous pouvez obtenir une visite gratuite en réservant un créneau horaire. Allez-y pour le coucher du soleil.

Image result for Norman Foster's shocking glass vault"

Un dîner complet dans le somptueux restaurant Käfer sur le toit coûtera environ 70 £ chacun, mais nous étions sur un Nous avons trouvé un endroit appelé Mama trattoria à Pariser Platz; où nous avons rempli nos ventres pour seulement 34 livres.

Le lendemain, nous avons voyagé une fois de plus vers l’Est, d’abord pour enquêter sur un Berlin progressivement heureux. Nous sommes arrivés au mur, précisément un long segment enveloppé de fabrication – la East Side Gallery. À partir de là, nous nous sommes promenés dans la vogue Boxhagener Platz pour un expresso et un gâteau dans le quartier énergique. C’était magnifique avec des routes pavées plantées d’arbres inondées de cafés, de bars et de bistrots.

À ce stade, un U-Bahn monter à Alexanderplatz et sur l’île aux musées.

Image result for museumisland"

Le plus captivant est le hall d’exposition DDR qui couvre la vie dans la vieille Allemagne de l’Est. Vous pouvez même faire un tour dans un Trabant notable – le «véhicule en carton» communiste propulsé par un moteur de tondeuse à gazon.

Après nous sommes allés voir le mémorial de l’Holocauste – un territoire immense sécurisé avec 2711 blocs de béton distinctifs dans un système de grille. Il est tout sauf difficile de s’y perdre en cherchant le passage vers la fonction invité souterraine profondément émouvante. Emballé dans ces blocs posés à la mémoire de 6 000 000 d’esprits, il est difficile de se débarrasser d’un sentiment d’isolement.

Nous sommes retournés en silence à l’Ouest pour notre souper aux 12 Apostels bourdonnants. Un restaurant qui a une pizza nommée d’après chaque apôtre. TheJudas est épicé, mais je l’ai supervisé avec l’aide de quelques bières.

À ce moment-là, nous sommes retournés à notre gîte, le H10 au large du Ku’damm – chic, agréable et calme avec une grande salle et de fabuleux repas du matin. C’est près d’une station de U-Bahn et non loin de KaDeWe, une sorte de Berliner Harvey Nicks.

En transit vers l’aéroport de Tegel le lendemain. C’était l’occasion idéale de se promener dans le ravissant parc du château de Charlottenburg du XVIIe siècle, le plus grand de Berlin.

Back to Top

Berlin travel: Capital of cool

Essential Berlin, What to see

BERLIN, November 1989. A youthful fellow wrapped up looks through a crack in the Berlin wall at the East Germany patrol men.

The patrol man gazes back at the kid and at that point breaks into a grin. What’s more, a vigilant youthful press photographer caught the moment symbolizing probably the greatest event in twentieth century history. The patrol mans comforting grin that day – just hours before demonstrators’ gather for the demolition of the Berlin wall.

Image result for berlinwall"

Presently, 30 years on, Berlin – still is constantly remaking itself – it is the ideal spot for a city break like no other. One that will make you think or even move you to tears.

Berlins has some truly lavish lodgings, fine eateries, awesome bistros, an energetic arts and dance club scene, the clamoring Kurfürstendamm pressed with high end shops, and a lot of the typical tourist attractions – even a zoo.

In any case, what pulls in such a significant number of its a huge number of visitors isn’t so much for what you see, however what you sense. The air of a vile history close enough to sense; an unease that it could be rehashed, yet in addition confidence in the reestablishing amazement at the sheer mental fortitude of local individuals.

You come here to learn – and, this time everything being equal, to not overlook.

Take Checkpoint Charlie, for example, the border crossing in Friedrichstrasse among East and West, deified in a whirlwind of Cold War books.

Image result for checkpoint charlie"

It’s regularly the must see traveler box ticked. The wall and watchmen have a long time been gone from the days when that youthful photographer, presently my wife, last crossed the old border. Be that as it may, for the two of us the bustling exhibition hall enlivens us with escapees from the Communist East attempting to escape towards the West.

Guests look in bewilderment at the displays. Individuals would hide in a car engine or a band’s amplifier – any little space to sneak over the border. One man even traveled to the west in a home-made light aircraft.

There are such a large number of moving stories, not least the getaways that finished with a slug in the back.

Give yourself in any event an hour here.

At that point cross the road and stroll down Niederkirchnerstrasse to the Topography of Terror, a creepy, huge open space where once stood the HQs of the SS and Gestapo.

Image result for Niederkirchnerstrasse"

Chillingly, along a similar road where the establishments of these Nazi structures still stand runs a long dim area of the Berlin Wall, purposely left set up since that pivotal night on November 9, 1989, when the fringe was opened and East Berliners euphorically grasped their Western individual natives. Just feet separated, the ground-breaking nearness of these images of abuse are not lost on guests as they record past the display exhibition in an uncovered storm cellar where Gestapo detainees are accepted to have been tortured.

The primary indoor focus contains a tremendous documentation of the outrages of the Hitler system so frightening it turns out to be difficult to take – yet you will yourself on out of regard to ages lost, and in acknowledgment of a country agonizingly laying it’s old soul out for all to see.

It was a nice to proceed onward to the two celebrated Berlin milestones that celebrate the city’s twentieth century change. Both the eighteenth century Brandenburg Gate – the image of Berlin and a magnet for selfie-snapping voyagers – and the nineteenth century Reichstag.

Still scarred with wartime slug holes, the reestablished German parliament is bested by engineer Norman Foster’s shocking glass vault. A spiraling walkway around the sides takes you to the top and offers 360 degree views over the city. You can get a free visit by booking a time slot. Head there for sunset.

Image result for Norman Foster's shocking glass vault"

A full supper in the opulent housetop Käfer eatery will cost about £70 each, however we were on a spending limit, and an extraordinary find was the close by Mama trattoria in Pariser Platz; totally stuffed for 34 quid.

The following day we traveled East once more, first to investigate a progressively blissful Berlin. Incidentally, it included the divider, however this time a mile-long segment shrouded in workmanship – the East Side Gallery. From that point we walked around in vogue Boxhagener Platz for an espresso and cake in the energetic understudy quarter, its tree-fixed cobbled roads flooded with cafés, bars and bistros.

At that point a U-bahn ride up to Alexanderplatz and on to Museum Island – an UnescoWorld Heritage site flaunting five museums. It’s a tranquil safe visit away from the Berlin clamor.

Image result for museumisland"

The most captivating is the DDR exhibition hall covering life in the old East Germany. You can even take a mimicked ride in a notable Trabant – the then omnipresent Communist “cardboard vehicle” (it was generally) powered by a lawnmower motor.

With time running out, we returned to Europe’s darkest days. We prepare ourselves for the Holocaust memorial – a tremendous territory secured with 2,711 distinctive concrete blocks in a grid system. It is anything but difficult to lose yourself in it as you look for the passage to the profoundly moving underground guest feature. Gobbled up in those blocks laid in memory of 6,000,000 evaporated spirits, it’s difficult to shake off a chewing feeling of seclusion.

We headed in silence back West for supper at the humming 12 Apostels which has a pizza named after each one. The fiery Judas is hot as heck, yet I oversaw it with the assistance of a couple of lagers.

At that point we returned to our lodging, the H10 off the Ku’damm – chic, agreeable and calm with an extensive room and fabulous morning meals. It’s by a U-bahn station and not a long way from KaDeWe, a kind of Berliner Harvey Nicks for snatching last minute pressies.

While in transit to Tegel Airport the following day there was the ideal opportunity for a walk around the delightful grounds of seventeenth century Charlottenburg Palace, the biggest in Berlin, alongside individuals pulling bags in the daylight.